Tulloch Wines unveils latest Heritage Cairn

It was a very proud occasion for Tulloch Wines recently with the unveiling of a Heritage Cairn acknowledging the Vineyard’s ‘Pokolbin Dry Red Label’.

NSW Tourism Minister and Member for Upper Hunter, George Souris, officially presented the Cairn to Jay and Julie Tulloch, recognising the label and its contribution to the areas heritage. 

The Hunter Valley Heritage Award was introduced in 2009 to acknowledge landmarks or items of historical importance, which have influenced the course of, or made a significant contribution to the Hunter Valley Wine Industry. 

Many distinguished guests attended the unveiling including Mayor of Cessnock Bob Pynsent, Member for Cessnock Clayton Barr and Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and Member for Hunter Joel Fitzgibbon.

Local winemaker and Hunter Valley ‘Living Legend’ Brian McGuigan was the sponsor of the award along with wife Fay, and said that the entire Tulloch family should be very proud of the label and what it stands for. 

“What a great day this is for the Tullochs and for the Hunter Valley wine industry,” he said.

“It is a great honour to be recognising the legends and icons of our industry and being able to acknowledge something so precious to our past, but more importantly to our future.”

Newcastle University lecturer and local historian, Dr. Julie McIntyre, also shared some history of the Pokolbin Dry Red label and the great passion shown by the Tulloch family since the first use of the label for Shiraz wines in 1952. 

Past Heritage Cairns have also be presented to ‘Uncle Dan’s Hut’ at Tyrrell’s Wines, Drayton’s Old Winery and Audrey Wilkinson Vineyards ‘Old Vats’, McWilliam’s Mount Pleasant ‘Maurice O’Shea Mount Pleasant Label’ and Lindeman’s Winery for ‘The Ben Ean Distillery’. 

The Hunter Valley Heritage Awards are decided by the Hunter Valley Living Legends and announced each year at the Hunter Valley Legends and Wine Industry Awards Dinner.   The Living Legends are people who have made a major contribution to the Hunter Valley Wine Industry, and include Bruce Tyrrell, Brian and Fay McGuigan, Phil Ryan, Jay Tulloch, Brian Walsh, Max Drayton, John Tulloch, Karl Stockhausen, Christopher Barnes and Perc McGuigan. This year Ian Scarborough was the latest to be inducted. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide