Zaaps win inaugural Pokolbin Farm Stay Masters netball title

WYONG team Zaaps are the inaugural Pokolbin Farm Stay Masters netball champions after a 32-22 victory over Sutherland Shire team Hamsaw in the final at Cessnock Toyota Stadium on Sunday.

Zaaps, who are regulars on the masters netball circuit, went undefeated throughout the two-day tournament, comfortably winning their five pool games on the way to their triumph over Hamsaw in the decider.

There was little between the two teams in the first two quarters, as Zaaps led 7-5 after the first period and 14-11 at half-time, then extended their lead throughout the second half.

Stadium general manager Brett Keeble thanked tournament sponsor Ross Crump and his group of Hunter Valley companies, and Lisa Hugo, from Pokolbin Farm Stay Accommodation, for their support.

Masters sport will continue at Cessnock Toyota Stadium this weekend with the second annual Wine Country Masters basketball tournament, which has attracted 16 teams.