Hunter Volunteer Awards held at Cessnock Performing Arts Centre

A group of 40 selfless volunteers received formal recognition for their outstanding contribution to the community at a special ceremony in Cessnock on Tuesday.

Member for Hunter Joel Fitzgibbon invited the community to nominate volunteers who deserved to be acknowledged for the time they give in their effort to make a difference.

“The contributions made by our Hunter Volunteer Award recipients make our community a better place,” Mr Fitzgibbon said.  

“These community-minded citizens are inspired to be involved in volunteering as it allows them to give something back and make a difference.

“The time, energy and effort our award recipients have selflessly given to a myriad of organisations in our community is truly commendable.”

The ceremony at Cessnock Performing Arts Centre was attended by more than 100 people including Member for Paterson Meryl Swanson, Cessnock mayor Bob Pynsent and Singleton mayor Sue Moore, who were on hand to congratulate the volunteers.

“It’s clear from today’s wonderful group of recipients we have no shortage of generous, community-orientated citizens who sacrifice their time and effort to assist others. The Hunter without doubt is all the better for their contribution,” Mr Fitzgibbon said.

“I am proud to host a volunteers event to acknowledge the many outstanding volunteers who are determined to make the Hunter a more vibrant, supportive and special place to live.

“I would also like to thank those who took the time to submit their nominations to ensure the recognition of our local volunteers.”

The recipients were:

  • Debra Calderwood – Northern Coalfields Community Care
  • Bill Calderwood – Cessnock District Rescue Squad VRA
  • Eleni Comino – Rotary Club of Morisset
  • Robyn Drayton – Northern Coalfields Community Care Association
  • Jordan Fallon – Kearsley Community Dawn Service Committee
  • Tracey and Matt Ford – Cessnock Hornets U-14s 
  • Bronwyn (Taffy) Fox – Finding Yellow
  • Raymond and Vicki George – Cessnock Masonic Retirement Village
  • Debbie Gilbert – All Saints Church
  • Dale Goldie – Kearsley Community Dawn Service Inc
  • Jane Goldie – Kearsley Rural Fire Brigade
  • Kelly Grainger – St John’s Ambulance Singleton combined division
  • Luke Grainger – St John’s Ambulance Singleton combined division
  • Kylie Gray – Cessnock Girl Guides
  • Dorothy Heath – Rural Fire Service and Cessnock District Cricket
  • Roz Holme – Cedar Creek Wombat Rescue
  • Lindy Hunt – Where There’s a Will
  • Tracey Jeffery – Cessnock Hornets
  • Daniel Joyce – St John Vianney Parish Morisset
  • Chad Lewis – Mulbring Cricket Club
  • Joe Matthews – Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service Muswellbrook Support Group
  • Margaret Matthews – Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service Muswellbrook Support Group
  • Jacqui McMichael – Cessnock View Club, Anglican Church choir, Marthaville, Samaritans
  • Morisset and Toronto Meals on Wheels
  • Ellena Morris – Special  Olympics/Coalfields United Swim Club
  • Carol O’Brien – Saint Vincent de Paul
  • Robert O’Brien – Saint Vincent de Paul
  • Lyn Rockley – Wine Country Lions Club
  • Katrina Rose – Cessnock Regional Art Gallery 
  • Kelly Sansom – Cessnock Girl Guides
  • Val Scott – Singleton Tidy Towns, Singleton Hospital community Trust, Singleton Anglican Church
  • Ann Skinner – Cessnock United Football Club
  • Vicki Steep – Rotary Club of Cessnock
  • Jo-Ann Tonon – Girl Guides
  • Waltraud (Tiny) Waeger – Greta Tidy Towns
  • Teresa Wrightson – PCYC Cessnock Soccer
  • Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service Cessnock Volunteer Support Group
  • Craig Wyborn – Mulbring Cricket Club