Indian bowler's dark mood despite Test win

While teammates celebrated, Ishant Sharma was berating himself over two no-balls in the first Test.
While teammates celebrated, Ishant Sharma was berating himself over two no-balls in the first Test.

As the rest of India's players rejoiced, Ishant Sharma was in a dark mood.

The reason? He'd bowled a no-ball which, for a tense time, he thought might have cost India a Test win against Australia.

Chasing 323, the Australians were 9-279 in the first Test on Monday when a Sharma ball thundered into the pads of Nathan Lyon.

As the veteran fast bowler turned to appeal for a match-winning lbw, he saw the umpire's call: no-ball.

Australia only added another dozen runs before India secured victory. But Sharma was angry.

"Ishant is the most pissed off right now," Indian captain Virat Kohli said.

"We are all very happy celebrating but he was really, really angry with himself.

"I asked him why and he said 'you can't afford to bowl a no-ball, being the senior guy, having played so many games and in a crunch situation - and the umpire probably would have given that out'."

Sharma also bowled a no-ball with the second delivery of Australia's second innings which appeared to trap Aaron Finch lbw.

But Kohli took Sharma's post-game mood as a positive sign.

"Guys take ownership of those things," Kohli said.

"Obviously, you can commit mistakes but, as long as the attitude is right, you look to correct those mistakes.

"So this incident that has happened, I'm sure Ishant is going to be obsessed about not doing it again.

"Guys ... are unhappy themselves that they made that mistake at a crunch situation and, come that situation again, they don't want to do it.

"That is the most you can ask for any player that is playing for their country and certainly the right attitude to have."

Australian Associated Press