14 sides in draw for Hunter Valley Nines

POPULAR: Teams from across the Hunter and beyond took part in the inaugural Nines tournament.
POPULAR: Teams from across the Hunter and beyond took part in the inaugural Nines tournament.

Fourteen teams will compete in the Hunter Valley Nines tournament at Kurri Kurri on February 23.

The competition has been divided into four pools with four teams in Pools A and B and three in Pools C and D.

Tournament organiser Mick Campton said teams from Pool C and Pool D will all be involved in one cross-over game to ensure all participating teams get a minimum of three games.

In it’s second year, the Nines has attracted all but two of the six Newcastle Rugby League teams and  they will be joined by Aberglasslyn Ants from the Newcastle and Hunter Rugby League and Group 21 team Greta Branxton Colts.

Other teams are composite sides and teams which compete in the annual Koori Cup Knockout competition.

Campton said the winning team would receive $5000 and the runners-up $1000.

“The prize money is an extra incentive for the guys, but I think after last year everyone realised what a great fun day it was and what a fantastic hit-out it was for the boys in their pre-season,” he said.

“You are really blowing after a game. It is ideal for this time of year to give you a bit of a game and  break up the drills.”

Hosts Kurri Kurri Bulldogs won the inaugural Nines competition to kick off a highly successful season which saw them fall one game short of the grand final.

The addition of popular Coalfields teams Maitland and Cessnock will add more spice and fan pulling power to the event, which attracted a huge crowd despite clashing with the Knights and Eels trial in Maitland.


  • West Rosellas
  • Newcastle All Blacks NAB
  • Aberglasslyn RLFC
  • Budgewoi Bulldogs


  • Castlereagh All Blacks
  • Kurri Kurri
  • Central Newcastle Butcher Boys
  • Maree Kelly Allstars


  • Maitland Pickers Rugby League Club
  • South Newcastle Rugby League Football Club
  • M D Memorial Bears Josh Day


  • Cessnock Goannas RLFC
  • Greta Branxton Colts RLFC
  • Coogee Randwick Wombats Rugby League