The people of Cessnock will join millions of Australians hitting the polls on Saturday

WITH the federal election just days away, the people of Cessnock will join millions of Australians hitting the polls on Saturday.

It's been a long campaign with candidates emerging from all sides of politics but we've got you covered on who is running and where you can vote.

The seat of the Hunter is held by Labor MP Joel Fitzgibbon. Mr Fitzgibbon has held the seat since 1996.

The other candidates include Greens candidate Janet Murray, Nationals' Josh Angus, Animal Justice Party's James Murphy, Pauline Hanson's One Nation candidate Stuart Bonds, United Australia Party's Paul Davies, Christian Democrat Party candidate Richard Stretton and Socialist Equality Party's Max Boddy.

For the Hunter electorate, people can vote at Branxton Community Hall, Cessnock East Public School, North Cessnock Community Hall, Cessnock High School, Cessnock West Public School, Denman Anglican Parish Hall, Greta Arts & Sports Community Hall, Kearsley Public School, Millfield Public School, North Rothbury Bush Fire Brigade Station and Nulkaba Public School.

Some residents will be voting in the seat of Paterson, which is currently held by Labor MP Meryl Swanson.

Ms Swanson won the seat with a 10.5 per cent of votes in 2016.

The candidates for Paterson include Liberal candidate Sachin Joshi, One Nation candidate Neil Turner, Greens candidate Jan Davis, United Australia Party's Graham Burston and Christopher Arthur Vale.

People can vote at Abermain Plaza Hall, Kurri Kurri High School, Kurri Kurri Public School, Pelaw Main Public School, Weston Civic Centre.

Polling centres are open from 8am to 6pm.