Top field competes for NSW Under 21 Speedway Solo title at Kurri

TRUE BLUE: Lake Macquarie rider Mitch Cluff will be keen to keep the title in NSW.
TRUE BLUE: Lake Macquarie rider Mitch Cluff will be keen to keep the title in NSW.

If a home state rider is to be crowned the 2019 NSW Under 21 Speedway Solo State Champion then he will have to overcome a strong interstate challenge when the title is to be decided at Kurri Kurri Speedway this Saturday.

Five Queenslanders and one Victorian will take on the four NSW riders for Championship honours.

Current Queensland Under 21 Champion, Declan Kennedy heads the northern State's entries. Kennedy is a regular traveler to the Kurri Kurri venue and his recent form stamps him as a strong contender for this year's event.

Lake Macquarie rider, Mitch Cluff is firmly focused on turning the tables on Kennedy and keeping the title in 'Blues territory'. Cluff finished runner up to Kennedy in the Queensland title and is determined to step on to the top of the podium this Saturday.

Isaac Hawes is another of the local riders expected to figure prominently in the Championship. The Cessnock youngster finished runner up to Mason Campton in the recently concluded Kurri Kurri Speedway Club Championship and has targeted the Under 21 State Title.

Queensland's Jedd List is out to shake off the disappointment of an unsuccessful first year stint in the 2019 British Speedway Championship League. List gained a contract with Scunthorpe Scorpions but was released after only three race meetings.

Zach Cook from Cowra is another strong candidate for Championship honours. He has a proven record at the Kurri Kurri track.

"The Club is disappointed that the Victorian Under 21 title is being held on the same weekend," said club president Peter Campton.

"But what this line up may lack in quantity is made up by the quality of the riders. There is a lot of talent in this group of next generation riders."

Three official NSW Speedway Solo Championships will be decided on the program. It is the first time that the Under 21s, the junior 250s and the junior 125s will be run together.

Racing is scheduled to get underway at 4pm with the junior 125cc speedway solos. The junior 250cc solos and the Under 21 solos are scheduled for a 7pm start.