Brendan Hlad wins Cessnock Goannas player of year award

Brendan Hlad has taken out the Cessnock Goannas first grade player of the year award.

Hlad put on hold plans to retire at end of the 2016 season and the club will be hopeful he returns in 2018.

Mykenzie Row became the inaugural Ladies League Tag player of the year, with Jai See winning the reserve grade award.

Joe Bromage was the premiership winning under-19 team’s player of the year and also took out the best forward and players’ player award.

Marvin Filipo won the first grade best forward award and the Henry Tatana coaches award. Callen Edwards was the best back and Blake Andrew won the players’ player award and Rod Saddler most dedicated award.

Young hooker Nick Lawrence was awarded the Jack Burke rookie of the year and Sam Wilson took out the George Ambrum most improved award.

Veteran winger Chris Pyne was awarded the Mark Watson achievement award.

Bob Everson, Brad Haffey and Brett Stevens were all honoured with life membership. Everson was also named club person of the year.

Ladies Tag: best back: Kristy Gray, best forward: Mykenzie Rowe and Jeau Hodge; coach’s award: Skye Preston; players’ player: Skye Preston.

Reserve grade: best back: Jade Jones-Antcliffe and Roy Bell; best forward: Jai See, coach’s award: Jay McCord; players’ player: Jai See and Brett Stevens.

Under-19: best back: Connor Kirkwood; best forward: Joe Bromage; coach’s award: Brandon Bendeich; players’ player: Joe Bromage.