Kurri Kurri Town Of Murals Art Show awards presentation PHOTOS

An evocative rendition of a woman and her dog has taken out top honours in Kurri Kurri’s Town of Murals art show on Saturday.

The winning work Monty and Maggie, by artist Vanessa Enrigt was deemed the overall winner after judge Nicole Swilks’ breath was taken away by the piece

Paul Brown’s Tropical Waters took out the contemporary category, while Eugenia Dunlevie’s Storm Activity Over the Hunter won traditional. Rene Brager’s Night Lights was deemed the best in the watercolour section and Susan Ryman’s Morning Catch won Pen, Pencil and Ink on Paper.

Bruno Wein’s Ducks Crossing was the best of the miniatures and Jessica Currie’s Sunlight Glow won Still Life/Flowers. Tracey Coombes’ Desert Dwellers beat out a competitive field in the Aboriginal category while prodigious painter Charlotte Jolliffe won the Junior Youth section Meadow Of Peace while also picking up an encouragement award for Dots of Freedom.

The youth section was won by Cody Lewis’ Bright Idea and senior youth was won by Mollie Lennon’s Pug.

The full list of winners below:

Major Award

Monty and Maggie – Vanessa Enright


 Winner: Tropical Waters – Paul Brown

Highly Commended: The Wave – Julie Hvirf; Wild Woman – Annie Huthnance; Homeward Bound – Dorothee Heibel; Between the first and the second gate – Michelle Heibel


 WinnerStorm Activity over the Hunter – Eugenia Dunlevie

 Highly Commended: Strength in the Shadows – Kristi Bain; Margaret Sivyer OAM – Susanne Gorring; The Fairy Gate – Jessica Curry; After Fire, Wee Jasper – Joan Crouch


Winner:Night Lights – Rene Brager

Highly Commended: Bunny Family – Judy Connors;

Pen, Pencil and Ink on Paper

Winner: Morning Catch – Susan Ryman

Highly Commended: Morning Rise – Stephen Bennett; Splendidly Divine – Jessica Curry; Tyrrell’s Hut -Deborah Barry; Flower Bower – Emilia Cooper; Wollembi Pine – Samantha Blanks; Wombat – Polina Karuso


Winner: Ducks Crossing – Bruno Wein

Highly Commended: Leaf Skeleton – Samantha Blanks; The back of beyond—Gaye Shield

Still Life/Flowers

Winner: Sunlit Glow – Jessica Curry

Highly Commended: Oil jug and avocado – Geoffrey Breen; Delight – Dorothy Compton


Winner: Desert Dwellers – Tracey Coombes

Highly Commended: Five Star – Dorothy Bell; Gecko Dreaming – Tracey Coombes

Junior Youth

Winner:  Meadow of Peace – Charlotte Jolliffe;

Encouragement Award: Dots of Freedom – Charlotte Jolliffe

Rising Talent Award: Mr Emu – Billie-Rose Woodger


Winner:  Bright Idea - Cody Lewis

Encouragement Award: Time Travel is Fun – Luca Heibel

Rising Talent Award: Colour Fantastic – Jorja Jensen

Highly Commended: From Splashy to Silent – Luca Heibel

Senior Youth

Winner:  Pug – Mollie Lennon

Second Prize:  Horse’s Eye – Sophie Hollis

Third Prize:  Welcome to Jurassic Junkyard – Ryan Lewis

Schools Award

People’s Choice: Holy Spirit Infants’ School Abermain

Encouragement Award:  Kurri Kurri Public School; Gillieston Heights Public School

Rising Talent Award: Little Owl Preschool, Abermain