Queensland’s Kye Thomson wins Tasmanian solo speedway title at Kurri Kurri

Queensland’s Kye Thomson won the 2018 Tasmanian 500 Solo Speedway championship at Kurri Kurri Speedway on Saturday night.

Thomson took out the A-final from Cowra brothers Zack and Ben Cook with Cessnock’s Josh Macdonald fourth in a great night of racing.

Geared towards the next generation of Australian riders the Tasmanian title as hosted by Kurri Kurri Speedway Club due to the lack of a suitable venue in Tasmania.

Thomson and the Cook brothers earned the right to apply for a UK working visa to compete in speedway in the UK courtesy of their top three finishes.

It’s been a great start to the Australian summer for Macdonald who made the B-final with Ben Cook at the NSW Solo Championships in Cowra last week.

A huge summer of racing at Kurri Kurri continues with the annual Jason Crump Classic Cup on Boxing Day and the final round of the Australian titles on January 12.

This story Queensland’s Kye Thomson wins Tasmanian speedway title at Kurri first appeared on The Maitland Mercury.