Jarred Brook takes honours as Trackmasters is cut short by rain

WINNING FORM: Jarred Brook (J21) leading Boyd Hollis (4), James Chapman (69) and Ben Montgomery (671). Picture: Sheree Griffin
WINNING FORM: Jarred Brook (J21) leading Boyd Hollis (4), James Chapman (69) and Ben Montgomery (671). Picture: Sheree Griffin

Sadly for riders and fans alike the culmination of the annual Trackmasters meeting at Barleigh Ranch on the weekend was cut short by rain.

All but the final round for those classes to be decided on points had been staged, but the biggest disappointment was that the finals of the Pro 250, Pro 450 and Pro Open classes could not be run after a second, and heavier, downpour of rain.

Results in those classed were declared on the heat scores.

Up to that time the quality line-up of riders had turned on plenty of close, exciting racing which only increased the disappointment that the final showdown between the top 12 riders in each class could not determine the final outcome.

As it was few could dispute the outcome as two of the nation's best took the honours.

In the Pro 450 class Jarred Brook (who won all three of his heats), edged out Damien Koppe (two wins and a loss to Brook) and Connor Ryan (two wins and a third).

In the Pro Open class Brook and Koppe were declared joint winners after both were unbeaten in the heats, obviously not having met, with Jordan Dall taking third.

Others who were prominent were Michael Vecchi, Boyd Hollis, Sam Davies, Ben Montgomery and James Chapman.

After a string of impressive performances on the oiled tracks, Chapman was able to transfer that form to the Barleigh Ranch track and as well as being involved in some exciting action in those classes he also took the honours in the Pro 250 class ahead of Jake Farnsworth and Kye Andrews.

Briony Hendrickson continued her domination of the women's events, while Jim Jobling/Ben Gardner got the better of Kai Frame/Lync Frame in the Dirt Track Sidecars and Kevin Griffith took the overall victory in the ATVs.

Other senior winners were Anthony Farrell (Over 35s) and Jake Farnsworth (Pre 90s), while Harrison Ryan added two more class wins to his record in the 13 to Under 16s it was the effort of Forbes rider Tom Drane that really turned heads.

Just months after entering this age bracket he did manage two race wins against Ryan, and also cleaned up in the two-stroke class which Ryan did not contest.

Jayden Rodgers and Luke Bush were others to show out well.

There were also two class wins for Jayden Holder, both times winning all four rounds, and a double for Sam Drane after suffering just one defeat.

Other class winners were Thomas Bullen, Anika Loftus, Lachlan Russell and Chayse Trappel.

Despite the rain, Hunter Motor Cycle Club president Keith Davies was well pleased with the weekend and with the track again widely praised by riders it augers well for the 2019 Australian Senior Dirt Track Championship which will be held at the Barleigh Ranch track on the weekend of October 5-6.