2020 Bathurst 1000: How to watch the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 on TV

Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat were the 2019 Bathurst 1000 winners. The Great Race will look very different this year.
Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat were the 2019 Bathurst 1000 winners. The Great Race will look very different this year.

It was on. It was off. It was on - but with COVID restrictions. It had a new sponsor?

Yup - all of that. But it's here. It's Bathurst 1000 weekend - 2020 style.

So that means be prepared for some shenanigans. And even as late as Friday they arrived. This time in the form of a time change, but more on that later.

Due to the COVID-19 restrictions, most of us will watch the Great Race on the box. Here's the weekend schedule plus more need-to-know facts.

TV times

Saturday: 8.35am - 6.30pm on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo; 11.30am - 6pm on Ten.

Sunday: 8am - 6.59pm on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo; 8am - 6.30pm on Ten.

  • Check local guides

New start time

Sunday's Bathurst 1000 will start 30 minutes earlier in an effort to minimise the impact of rain and storms forecast for the region on Sunday.

The race was due to start at 11.30am, but will now get under way at 11am.

According to Supercars.com, the move is designed to cover off the chance of a longer than usual race, should wet weather bring additional safety cars or even red flags.

At this stage, the Bureau of Meteorology has forecast a 90 per cent chance of rain, most likely in the morning and afternoon on Sunday.

Up to 10 millimetres of rain could fall across the day, and this would follow on from up to 8mm on Saturday.

The weekend schedule

Saturday, October 17 

09:10 Historic Touring Cars Race 2

09:45 Supercars practice - co-drivers only

11:00 Support categories Race 1 - Tin Tops

11:40 TGRA 86 Series Race 2

12:20 Dunlop Super2 Series qualifying

12:55 Historic Touring Cars Race 3

13:30 Supercars practice

14:45 Support categories Race 2 - Tin Tops

15:20 TGRA 86 Series Race 3

16:00 Dunlop Super2 Series Race 2

17:05 Supercars Top Ten Shootout

Sunday, October 18

08:40 Supercars warm up

09:15 Support categories Race 3 - Tin Tops

09:55 TGRA 86 Series Race 4

11:00 Supercars Bathurst 1000

  • All times AEDST

Top 10 driver pairings

The leading driver pairings competing at this year's Bathurst 1000 Supercars race


Bathurst best: McLaughlin - 1st (2019); Slade - 7th (2009, '12, '18)

A freshly-crowned three-time champion, Scott McLaughlin will be hoping to secure consecutive Bathurst 1000 wins in what will likely be his farewell Supercars race before embarking on an IndyCar career. The DJR Penske star claimed a controversial breakthrough win at Mount Panorama last year with Alex Premat. Tim Slade replaces the Frenchman in the all-conquering Ford Mustang this year.


Bathurst best: Whincup -1st (2006, '07, '08, '12); Lowndes - 1st (1996, 2006, '07, '08, '10, '15, '18)

Fitting that two of Australian motorsport's greats are back together in a Commodore in Holden's last hurrah at Mount Panorama before the brand is retired. The legendary duo combined for the first time since 2009 last year, finishing fourth. Lowndes might be two years retired from full-time racing, but don't discount him from snatching an eighth Bathurst 1000 win - and fourth with Whincup.


Bathurst best: Waters - 4th (2016); Davison - 1st (2009, '16)

Tickford's Cameron Waters has enjoyed a sparkling end to 2020, culminating in a breakthrough solo win at Tailem Bend. His record at the mountain is underwhelming but his pairing with two-time winner Will Davison will boost his chances considerably this year. Davison has been off-track as a solo driver since March after his team 23Red pulled out of the Supercars championship.


Bathurst best: Van Gisbergen - 2nd (2016, '19); Tander - 1st (2000, '09, '11)

Could this be the year for Shane van Gisbergen? Again driving with three-time winner Garth Tander, the 2016 Supercars champion will be hoping to finally breakthrough for his maiden Bathurst 1000 win. After a nightmare start to 2020, van Gisbergen has finished strongly by securing a trio of victories at the last three rounds.


Bathurst best: Coulthard - 3rd (2017); D'Alberto - 3rd (2017)

Back together for the fourth year in row, the Mustang drivers have experience and chemistry on their side. While attention will be on the other DJR Penske car, Fabian Coulthard has been peaking at the right end of the season to be giving Scott McLaughlin a run for his money.


Bathurst best: Mostert - 1st (2014); Luff - 2nd (2017, '18)

Chaz Mostert has been a picture of consistency since his controversial switch from Ford during the off-season. No victories to show for it, but he has qualified well and usually been near the top of the field. He knows what it takes in the big race after securing a famous win in 2014 with Paul Morris.


Bathurst best: Holdsworth - 3rd (2009); Caruso - 3rd (2009)

This pair is reuniting for the first time in 11 years. Ford veteran Lee Holdsworth has endured a nightmare last few Bathurst 1000s, but his last start with Michael Caruso in 2009 yielded a podium finish. They need everything to go their way to cause a boilover.


Bathurst best: Reynolds - 1st (2017); Brown - 24th (2018)

David Reynolds' successful partnership with Luke Youlden, which resulted in a 2017 win, has come to an end and the Erebus favourite will instead team up with the unheralded Will Brown. It will be just the 22-year-old's third start at Mount Panorama.


Bathurst best: Kelly - 1st (2003, '04); Wood - 4th (2017)

He's long been a contender, but popular veteran Rick Kelly's last win at the mountain was 16 year ago. After driving with Kelly for eighth in a Nissan last year, the dependable Dale Wood is back again and will provide solid support.


Bathurst best: Winterbottom - 1st (2013); Golding 8th - (2018)

Without a full-time drive in the championship this year, young gun James Golding will make for a solid partner to Holden veteran Mark Winterbottom. The man they call 'Frosty' has been off the pace this season, but a driver who has claimed a title and a Bathurst 1000 win before can't be discounted.